National PO, Charles Gerhardt - Citizen Kane The Classic Film Scores of Bernard Herrmann (1974)

Discussion in 'Music' started by Bo0mB0omh, Feb 6, 2019.

  1. Bo0mB0omh

    Bo0mB0omh Well-Known Member


    Citizen Kane: The Classic Film Scores of Bernard Herrmann (1974) Reissue 1991
    National Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Charles Gerhardt
    Kiri Te Kanawa, soprano; Joaquin Achucarro, piano

    EAC | FLAC (Image) + cue.+log ~ 241 Mb | Mp3, CBR320 kbps ~ 119 Mb | Scans ~ 55 Mb | 00:52:07
    Contemporary Classical, Soundtracks | Label: RCA Victor/BMG Classics | # GD80707

    Citizen Kane: The Classic Film Scores of Bernard Herrmann is probably the best of the entire series by conductor Charles Gerhardt and the National Philharmonic Orchestra. Every track is worthwhile and memorably played, especially Beneath the 12-Mile Reef and the suite from Citizen Kane, the latter highlighted by Kiri Te Kanawa's performance of the Strauss-like aria from Salammbo.

    This CD is an essential addition to any film score collection. It's the best recording in the RCA "Classic Film Scores" series conducted by the late Charles Gerhardt; unlike many of the other entries in the series, this disc favors substantial, extended suites over brief snippets. Bernard Herrmann personally selected the works to be included; he was also present (and played a significant role) at the recording sessions.

    Gerhardt's readings of excerpts from "Citizen Kane" are flawless and have never been surpassed; the performance of the "Salammbo" aria (by then-little-known soprano Kiri Te Kanawa) is dazzling. "Beneath the Twelve-Mile Reef" and "White Witch Doctor," two forgotten Fox films from 1953, are represented by suites replete with brilliant coloristic effects, including the bizarre and disturbing sounds of the serpent in "White Witch Doctor," and the bold and evocative use of nine (!) harps to illustrate underwater scenes in "Beneath the Twelve-Mile Reef." Pianist Joaquin Achucarro's performance of the intense "Concerto Macabre" from "Hangover Square" (1945) makes a convincing case for this work as an independent piece of concert music, and the brief but ferocious "Death Hunt" from the 1951 film noir "On Dangerous Ground" is a perfect curtain-raiser.

    Herrmann is mainly known for his collaborations with Alfred Hitchcock, but if you only know his scores for "Hitch," you're missing an entirely different side to Herrmann. This disc provides an ideal cross-section of his wildly creative approach to more traditional Hollywood films; it's also one of the best film music anthologies ever recorded. Buy this; you won't be disappointed.



    On Dangerous Ground:
    01. The Death Hunt (2:26)

    Citizen Kane:
    02. Prelude: Xanadu; Snow Picture (3:18)
    03. Theme and Variations(Breakfast Montage) (3:27)
    04. Aria from Salammbo (4:16)
    05. Rosebud and Finale (2:39)

    Beneath the 12-Mile Reef:
    06. The Sea; The Lagoon (4:41)
    07. Descending (0:51)
    08. The Octopus; Homecoming (4:58)

    Hangover Square:
    09. Concerto Macabre for Piano and Orchestra (11:55)

    White Witch Doctor:
    10. Talking Drums; Prelude; The Riverboat; Petticoat Dance; The Safari (3:56)
    11. Tarantula; The Lion (1:27)
    12. Nocturne (3:47)
    13. Abduction of the Bakuba Boys; The Skulls (1:56)
    14. Lonni Bound by Ropes; Departure (2:30)

    (Buy premium account for maximum speed and resuming ability)